Hiroshima Peace Prize

Hiroshima Peace Prize

About Hiroshima Peace Prize

Hiroshima Soka Gakkai created the Soka Gakkai Hiroshima Peace Award in 1999 to mark the end of a century of war and shine a light on a new age in a century of peace and life. The award honors those who contribute to advances in world peace, culture and education.

Past Laureate

John D. Montgomery
Professor Emeritus, Harvard University

The first award was given on November 18, 1999 to Dr. John D. Montgomery for doing what he could to help the City of Hiroshima design Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and establish the Hiroshima Peace Institute in the effort to rebuild the city and the site of the atomic bombing.

The following is a summary of his remarks at the award ceremony. “An important event in my life was when I first came to Hiroshima at the age of 26. I was impressed by those who succeeded (then) Mayor Kihara because instead of looking to the past, they looked to the future. What I want you to know is that the people around Mr. Kihara, the citizens who performed the actual work, were the ones who carried out the reconstruction. Another important event, what you could call the greatest point in my life, was when I met with Mr. Ikeda. He founded the Pacific Basin Research Center at Soka University of America and assists scholars addressing welfare and other issues. All this is thanks to Soka Gakkai and has come to be due to Mr. Ikeda’s great vision for the future. I am full of gratitude. We are all working hand-in-hand to find solutions to the global issues of peace and human rights.”

Soka Gakkai Hiroshima List of Peace Prize Laureates

No. Date Position at the time Laureate Country
1 11/18/1999 Professor Emeritus, Harvard University John D. Montgomery United Sates of America
2 11/18/1999 President, Brazilian Society of Heraldry, Medals, Culture and Education   Galdino Cuchiaro Federative Republic of Brazil
3 3/17/2000 President, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation David Krieger United Sates of America
4 4/06/2000 Mayor of Rotorua Grahame Hall New Zealand
5 6/10/2000 Chancellor, Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha Ramaranjan Mukherji India
6 1/17/2001 Vice Chancellor, Purvanchal University Premchand Patanjali India
7 4/14/2002 Professor, Oregon State University Pauling Junior United Sates of America
8 4/14/2002 Vice President, Oregon State University Orcilia Zuniga Forbes United Sates of America
9 8/14/2002 Dean, Morehouse College, Martin Luther King Jr. International Chapel Lawrence Edward Carter Sr. United Sates of America
10 2/18/2005 Ambassador of Ukraine Yurii V. Kostenko Ukraine
11 4/03/2005 Former President, Jeju National University Dr. Cho Moon-Boo Republic of Korea
12 7/25/2005 President of Pugwash Conferences Monkombu Sambasivan Swaminathan India
13 5/30/2008 Minister-counsellor, deputy head of mission, Embassy of the Russian Federation in Japan Mikhail Y. Galuzin Russian Federation
14 8/05/2008 Mario Fernandez Silva Mario Fernandez Silva Republic of Costa Rica
15 3/22/2009 Rektorat/Administration, University College South Denmark Søren Vang Rasmussen Kingdom of Denmark
16 3/27/2009 Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Mongolia to Japan Rentsendoo Jigjid Mongolia
17 1/23/2010 Ambassador of the Republic of Kazakhstan in Japan Akylbek A. Kamaldinov Republic of Kazakhstan
18 11/13/2010 Former President of South Africa, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1993 Frederik Willem de Klerk Republic of South Africa
19 11/14/2010 President of Pugwash Conferences Jayantha Dhanapala Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
20 11/14/2010 Peace Activist, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1976 Mairead Corrigan Maguire Northern Ireland
21 7/03/2011 Ambassador of Ukraine Mykola Kulinich Ukraine
22 12/18/2011 Ambassador of the Russian Federation Mikhail M. Bely Russian Federation
23 3/15/2012 Chair in Peace and Conflict Studies and Director, University of Otago; Secretary General, Toda Institute for Global Peace and Policy Research Kevin P. Clements New Zealand
24 7/28/2012 Former UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs Sergio Duarte Federative Republic of Brazil
25 9/29/2012 IPS Founder, President Emeritus Roberto Savio Italian Republic
26 5/26/2013 Ambassador of Peru Elard Escala Republic of Peru
27 3/23/2014 Vice President of Costa Rica, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1987 Óscar Arias Sánchez Republic of Costa Rica
28 10/06/2016 Professor, University of Denver Ved. P. Nanda United Sates of America
29 12/20/2017 Vice Chancellor, Jagran Lakecity University Anoop Swarup India
30 01/27/2018 President of National University of San Marcos Orestes Cachay Boza Peru
31 03/15/2018 Professor of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Jim Garrison United States
32 08/03/2018 Embassy of the Republic of Costa Rica in Japan Exc. Sr. Laura Maria Esquivel Mora Costa Rica
33 08/04/2019 President of Universidade Federal de Sergipe Angelo Roberto Antoniolli Brasil
34 10/06/2019 Professor of University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE Kenneth M. Price United States